How To Train A Dog The Right Way For Protection

Posted: May 24, 2014 in Dog Behavior, Guard Dog Training, Protection Training, Puppy Training
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

 

bite victimIf you are thinking about training a dog to bite,.. you are only setting yourself up for a law suit. If you feel the need to be protected for any reason my advice is to get a human body-guard.  Only the most highly skilled trainers like law enforcement or military personnel should be engaged in this kind of training. Having a dog that is trained to attack and take down perps is a life long commitment and should not be attempted by the average dog owner. That being said, you can learn how to train a dog to protect you.

Having a dog with you when you go for a walk can help make you feel safer, and in most cases if you have a Rottweiler, German Shepard, or a Doberman, chances are no one is going to test you to see if the dog will bite.

Looks can beattack dog a very effective deterrent in and of itself.

 

 

 

If you want to train a dog to protect you it is imperative that you begin training as soon as you bring your puppy home, usually around 8 weeks of age. Proper socialization will be a life long and continuous endeavor, not only to people but other animals as well.

Not all dogs are suited for protection work, you won’t know if yours is until you actually begin to train him. Your dog’s temperament will determine how he behaves in public, but regardless of temperament, if you properly train your dog he should be fine. If you are not sure as to how to properly train your dog you should contact a local reputable trainer to help you.

I have trained many dogs, and it is my experience that when you train a dog to be obedient and loyal, and provide them with everything they need to be happy and healthy, they will defend you to the death if the occasion calls for it.

Dog training 150For example I never trained my dog Lola to bite and she is very friendly with strangers and other animals, but I would not want to be the one who jumps out of the bushes and tries to take my wallet or cause me harm, it would not end well for them, just sayin.

Because she is so well-trained I am confident that she will obey me when I say quit, no matter what. I know this because I trained her to stop immediately when she is in full prey drive, and her excitement levels are off the chart, when I say quit, she puts the brakes on and immediately comes to me.

So there you have it, you can learn how to train a dog for protection without teaching them to bite. They will protect you naturally if push comes to shove, and as long as they are highly trained and your relationship is strong, you can feel at ease the next time you go for a walk.

Remember training your dog to bite is not cool, and you are only asking for trouble, for you and your dog.

That’s all for now…

I hope you found this post helpful, and if you did please share it with your friends, and leave me a comment and let me know what you think. I’d love to hear from you.

Good luck, and good training

Harley

Tell me what you think

